CARMEL J. ANGELO Chief Executive Officer Clerk of the Board



Contact Information 501 Low Gap Road • Room 1010 Ukiah, California 95482 TELEPHONE: (707) 463-4221 FAX: (707) 463-7237 Email: bos@co.mendocino.ca.us Web: www.co.mendocino.ca.us/bos

COUNTY OF MENDOCINO BOARD OF SUPERVISORS

February 14, 2012

California Energy Commission 1516 9th Street Sacramento, CA 95814

Dear California Energy Commission Grant Committee,

The Mendocino County Board of Supervisors unanimously supports the grant application of Yokayo Biofuels. Since its founding in 2001, Yokayo Biofuels has expanded to provide 17 manufacturing jobs by converting used fryer oil into fuel. This business assists local governments in meeting diversion requirements from the waste steam while simultaneously helping to achieve mandated reductions in Green House Gas (GHG) emissions.

Yokayo Biofuels is currently embarked on a major engineering and construction project to upgrade and expand their facilities. The planned upgrade will improve worker safety, increase yield, decrease energy inputs, and decrease waste. This project will add jobs to the local economy and create a lower carbon footprint.

Yokayo Biofuels, with its focus on expanding green and alternative energy technology and production, contributes to the achievement of key economic development goals for Mendocino County. The expanded plant will improve both the local economy and the ecological sustainability of our county. We anticipate that the expanded plant will also become an ecological destination for travelers and entrepreneurs who are interested in witnessing working examples of energy independence projects that focus on green and alternative energy while also building a sustainable local economy.

Thank you for your consideration of the Yokayo Biofuels grant application. Please do not hesitate to contact us if we may provide additional information.

Sincerely,

John McCowen, Chair Mendocino County Board of Supervisors

THE BOARD OF SUPERVISORS

CARRE BROWN First District JOHN MCCOWEN Second District JOHN PINCHES Third District KENDALL SMITH Fourth District DAN HAMBURG Fifth District